MOSCOW — Moscow urges the parties to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict to renounce the use of force and to show political will to reach a compromise, Russian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova said Wednesday.

“Unfortunately, the renewal of political dialogue gets more complicated because of escalation of situation in the conflict zone, increased number of victims, including civilians,” she said, adding that “further escalation is simply inadmissible.”

“We believe that further escalation is simply unacceptable. We urge the parties to renounce the use of force, to demonstrate the political will necessary to reach a compromise,” Zakharova said.

A settlement to the conflict was discussed during the foreign ministers’ of Armenia and Azerbaijan visit to Moscow in April-May, Zakharova noted.

“It is also a subject of ongoing contacts of [Russian Foreign Minister] Sergei Lavrov with his foreign colleagues,” the ministry’s spokeswoman added.

The Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) Minsk Group, co-chaired by the United States, Russia and France, has been mediating the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict since 1992.

According to Zakharova, Russia closely cooperates with the United States and France on the Nagorno-Karabakh issue.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of the latest updates from MassisPost.

You May Also Like

ACA-PAC Announces Endorsements for November 6 General Elections

PASADENA — The Armenian Council of America – Political Action Committee has…

The Nagorno Karabakh Conflict Is Waiting for Its Just Settlement. Nikol Pashinyan Addressing UN General Assembly

Prime Minister of Armenia Nikol Pashinyan delivered a speech at the General…

Nationalism and Globalization

BY HARUT DER-TAVITIAN Let’s begin our end of the year reflections with…

Armenian Assembly Urges Thorough Investigation into Turkey\’s Attempts to Compromise U.S. Democratic Institutions

WASHINGTON, D.C. – On March 31, Armenian Assembly of America (Assembly) Co-Chairs…